Contact

What are you looking for?

Mitigating the Risk of Seafood Fraud – Exploring the Latest Testing Protocols for Species Identification and Origin Verification

  • Start

    September 28, 2022

  • End

    September 28, 2022

  • Time Zone

    CET

Register now

Join our live webinar to learn how advanced technologies can be used to fight food fraud and adulteration.

The objective of this webinar is to explore analytical testing possibilities that can help with the detection of fraud and adulteration in the seafood sector. New advanced technologies offer multiple tools to fight food fraud and detect non-compliances in the supply chain.

As one of the most vulnerable food segments, seafood often suffers from a mislabeling of products, mainly regarding geographical origin and species. The geographical origin of seafood has become profoundly important since it relates to sustainability standards; combating illegal, unreported, and unregulated (IUU) fishing; wild versus farmed claims; and smuggling. The session will include examples of fingerprinting techniques, such as isotope ratio mass spectrometry, that can be used to verify origins and confirm traceability.

Species substitution is one of the most common types of fraud in seafood processing (when species recognition is more difficult by visual inspection), allowing offenders to achieve large profit margins while greatly increasing public health risks associated with consumption. Next generation sequencing, which has proved to be a very powerful method, is a valuable tool for the seafood industry and can be applied across the whole range of supply chains.

Practical examples of both types of methods will be presented during this session.

Agenda

  • Introduction
  • Trends and emerging fraud risks in the seafood sector
  • Analytical verification of the geographical origin of seafood
  • Species identification of seafood
  • Practical examples of testing programs for seafood authentication
  • Conclusion
  • Q&A

Speakers:

David Psomiadis - Chief Business Officer, Imprint Analytics

Joana Cruz – Manager, Competence Centre for Molecular Biology, SGS

Target Audience:

The webinar is aimed at all food quality, integrity, safety, supply chain and regulatory compliance professionals.

Schedule:

4:00 PM Paris (France)

3:00 PM London (United Kingdom)

10:00 AM New York (United States)

7:00 AM San Francisco (United States)

Language: English

Cost: No Charge

Can't make a live session?

Register now and receive a complimentary recording after the live event.

For further information, please contact:

Jennifer Buckley
Senior Global Marketing Manager
t: +1 973 461 1498

Related Webinars

News & Insights

  • SGS Headquarters

1 Place des Alpes,

P.O. Box 2152 1211,

Geneva Switzerland