What are you looking for?

Comparing Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI) Recognized Standards

Food09 Feb 2023
Download now

This document aims to provide an overview of the Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI) and what it means for an international food safety standard to be GFSI-recognized. It then goes on to discuss each of the GFSI approved schemes individually, looking in detail at the key schemes which are offered by BRCGS, FSSC 22000, IFS Food, SQF Code, and GLOBALG.A.P. For each of these, the requirements, benefits, and certification processes are reviewed.

There are five further schemes that are covered in brief. The most generic of the schemes and those most commonly adopted by branded goods manufacturers (FSSC 22000, BRCGS, SQF Code and IFS) are then compared, by discussing the criteria, similarities and differences between the schemes.

The white paper also includes a brief overview of alternative programs that support small and medium sized businesses by providing a stepping-stone prior to full GFSI-recognized food safety certification.

The paper then looks at the merits of a customized single food audit. Although there is rarely one "optimal fit" food safety standard for any given organization, a combination of schemes brought together in one audit procedure may be a suitable solution.

Comparing Global Food Safety Initiative GFSI Recognized Standards

Related White Papers

News & Insights

  • SGS Headquarters - Food Enquiries

1 Place des Alpes,

P.O. Box 2152, 1211,