As part of their ongoing development, both ISO 9001 (Quality Management) and ISO 14001 (Environmental Management) are currently under review, with the final revised versions due in 2015.

Revision Timetable

The current ISO timeline anticipates the following:

  • Draft version of the revised Standards (DIS): Q2, 2014.
  • Final draft version (FDIS): Q1, 2015. 
  • Final revised versions: Later in 2015.

Inevitably, this timeline may be subject to delay and date slippage.

Revised Format

At this stage, it is uncertain what the precise requirements of the final revised versions will be.  However, we are aware of some of the changes that will be made. 

Following the adoption by ISO of ‘Annex SL’ in 2012, all technical committees developing management system standards have to use the same structure, terms and definitions. In the same way, any future revision to ISO 22000 will have the same structure.

For this reason, we know that the revised version of ISO 9001, ISO 14001 and any other new or revised standards will have ten sections:

  1. Scope
  2. Normative references
     Wording that is specific to the Standard (including its intended outcome).
  3. Terms and definitions
    Reference to common terms and core definitions outlined in Annex SL and any which are specific solely to Quality, Environmental or Food Safety Management, for example.
  4. Context of the organisation
    Understanding the organisation implementing the Standard, needs and expectations of interested parties, scope of its Management System.
  5. Leadership
    Leadership and commitment; quality, environmental or food safety policy; roles, responsibilities and authorities.
  6. Planning
    Actions to address risks and opportunities, objectives and plans to achieve them.
  7. Support
    Resources needed for the chosen Management System, personnel competence and awareness, communication and documented information.
  8. Operation
    Operational planning and control.
  9. Performance evaluation
    Monitoring, measurement, analysis and evaluation, internal audit and management review.
  10. Improvement
    Non-conformity, corrective action and continual improvement.

Future Updates

Until the FDIS for both standards is issued in the early part of 2015, no organisation can realistically make any definite forecast about the exact requirements. The current intention is to have a three year transition period for existing users of ISO 9001:2008 and/or ISO 14001:2004 although this has still to be formally ratified. SGS will keep you updated on new developments as they happen.

For further information, please contact your local SGS office.