Skip to Menu Skip to Search Contact Us Skip to Content

Growing interest in non-destructive testing methods has encouraged the SGS Competence Center for Non-Destructive Testing to present a complimentary 60-minute webinar entitled “Efficient Flange Face Inspection” hosted by Ton Kooren, Global Expert Advanced NDT.

Today, process piping is often connected with flanges, strengthening rims used for attaching objects to one another. There are many conditions under which corrosion appears on the flange faces posing serious danger. This could lead to a reduction in the capacity of the seal and possible leakage. Because such structural deficits produce significant costs in terms of repair, environmental damage, and loss of production and revenue, it is prudent business to regularly inspect and maintain critical structures and equipment in order to detect damage in the earliest of stages. Ultrasonic phased array enables highly-trained inspectors to identify corrosion on and beneath the flange face surface while in-service.

Phased Array (PA) is a non-destructive, advanced method of ultrasonic testing used by SGS expert inspectors to expose defects hidden deep inside a structure or weld. PA instruments are more expensive and complex and PA technicians require more experience and training than conventional technicians, generating higher upfront costs which are often offset due to greater flexibility offered by PA and the reduction of time needed to carry out such inspections.

The webinar will cover:

  •  Phased Array Application
  • Flange Face Inspection Approach
  • Advantages and Limitations
  • Adding Value to Existing Methods
  • Recommended Practice and Standards

SGS non-destructive testing services offer complete or sample examination of assets using well-designed procedures and highly-trained and certified NDT inspectors. From construction sites, pipelines and refineries to shipyards and nuclear power plants, SGS monitors and improves the reliability of processes and equipment. SGS provides complete and valuable data which assists SGS clients to reach informed, intelligent asset management decisions.

Join one of the two complimentary sessions on June 12, 2012:

Session 1

10:00 a.m. Amsterdam European Summer Time (GMT + 2:00)
12:00 p.m. Abu Dhabi, Muscat Arabian Time (GMT + 4:00)
04:00 p.m. Singapore Singapore Time (GMT + 8:00)

Session 2

04:00 p.m. Amsterdam European Summer Time (GMT + 2:00)
11:00 a.m. Buenos Aires South American Eastern Time (GMT - 3:00)
09:00 a.m. Chicago Central Daylight Time (GMT - 5:00)   

To obtain more information about the webinar “Efficient Flange Face Inspection” and to find out how to register, visit the SGS Webinar Calendar.

For further information, please contact:

SGS Nederland B.V.
Jiyoung Yoon
Business Assistant Global NDT
Malledijk 18
3208 LA SPIJKENISSE
t: +31 181 693 612
f: +31 181 693 585
Website: www.sgs.com/ndt

ABOUT SGS

SGS is the world’s leading inspection, verification, testing and certification company. SGS is recognized as the global benchmark for quality and integrity. With more than 70,000 employees, SGS operates a network of over 1,350 offices and laboratories around the world.