Join us to learn about North American safety standards for formaldehyde in composite wood products.

Starts

December 9, 2021

Ends

December 9, 2021

Location

Online

Formaldehyde is a known carcinogen which is used in a huge variety of composite wood products, including hardwood plywood (HWPW), medium-density fiberboard (MDF) and particleboard (PB). Legislation to govern its safe use now applies to composite wood panels used in cabinets, countertops, furniture, mobile homes, toys, travel trailers and campers as well as window frames.

This complimentary webinar provides an introduction to emission standards implemented by the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), the California Air Resources Board (CARB) and Canada’s new formaldehyde emissions from composite products regulations.

The US EPA’s final rule to implement Formaldehyde Standards for Composite Wood Products Act (Toxic Substances Control Act Title VI, TSCA Title VI) will be examined and similarities and differences between requirements in the US, California and Canada will be discussed, together with solutions for third-party certification.

The webinar will be helpful for quality and compliance professionals, particularly with regard to record-keeping, reporting and labeling responsibilities for selling stand-alone composite wood panel products and finished goods to North American markets.

Agenda

  • Toxic Substances Control Act Title VI
  • Background and main provisions
  • Scope/framework
  • Third-party certification for panel manufacturers
  • Obligations for economic operators, including labeling and import certification
  • Comparison with formaldehyde emission requirements under California and Canada
  • Q&A

Presenter

Dr. Hing Wo Tsang
Global Information and Innovation Manager

With a background in chemistry, Hing has over 18 years experience in consumer product safety and quality, particularly with regard to restricted substances and chemicals in the Hardlines industry. He manages the technical aspects of the Global Hardlines team, ranging from regulatory and standard developments to chemical projects, and is also a member of SGS’s toy chemical safety and food contact material/articles committees.

Register Now

Session 1
Thursday, December 9, 2021 >
8:00 am London (UK), 9:00 am Paris (France), 4:00 pm Hong Kong (China)

Session 2
Thursday, December 9, 2021 >
10:00 am New York (US), 3:00 pm London (UK), 4:00 pm Paris (France)

Can't make a live session?

Register now and receive a complimentary recording after the live event.

For further information, please contact:

Stephanie Pionchon
Global Marketing Manager
Connectivity & Products
t: +49 172 3815 777