Skip to Menu Skip to Search Contact Us Global Websites & Languages Skip to Content

About

Join our live webinar to learn how NGS can help improve food authenticity, traceability and safety.

Starts

July 19, 2018

Ends

July 19, 2018

Location

Online

All Species ID Analyzer

This webinar, presented by SGS, explores the use of Next Generation Sequencing (NGS) for food analysis.

Objective

The objective of this webinar (45-minute presentation / 15-minute Q&A) is to introduce the Next Generation Sequencing (NGS) method and how it can be used for food analysis for authenticity, traceability and safety. We will explore the advantages and limitations of the method and how it is changing the view of food analysis.

Agenda

  • Introduction to the DNA-based methods for food analysis
  • Brief description of Next Generation Sequencing (NGS)
  • Targeted vs untargeted DNA-based methods
  • How NGS can be used for food authenticity, traceability and safety
  • Real case studies

Background

Food authenticity and safety are top concerns for both the food industry and consumers. Therefore, the need to verify exactly what is contained in a food or animal feed product is critical. Recently, the use of DNA-based methodologies has become a powerful tool for food analysis. However, most of them are based on PCR amplification which requires knowing which organism to search for and is often limited to a restricted amount.

DNA-based approaches were greatly improved by the recent application of Next Generation Sequencing (NGS) techniques. NGS allows for untargeted detection of thousands of organisms with no previous knowledge required about the species to search for. This analysis is based on DNA sequencing which is regarded as the most reliable method for species identification.

Presenter

Mario Gadanho - SGS Molecular Global Business Development Manager

Language: English
Cost: No charge

Target audience

This webinar is aimed at manufacturers/processors, importers and suppliers of food, animal feed and ingredients.

Please select the session which best suits your time zone and schedule:

Register for Session 1>

Thursday, July 19, 2018
10:00 am Europe Summer Time (Paris)
9:00 am GMT Summer Time (London)
1:30 pm India Time (Mumbai)
4:00 pm Singapore Time (Singapore)

Register for Session 2>

Thursday, July 19, 2018
10:00 am Eastern Daylight Time (New York)
4:00 pm Europe Summer Time (Paris)
3:00 pm GMT Summer Time (London)
7:00 am Pacific Daylight Time (San Francisco)

Can't make a live session? Register now and receive a complimentary recording after the live event.

For further information please contact:

Jennifer Buckley
SGS Global Marketing Manager
t: +1 973 461 1498