Skip to Menu Skip to Search Contact Us Skip to Content

About

Join our webinar, presented by SGS, to explore Economically Motivated Adulteration (EMA), mitigation strategies and food fraud detection using the untargeted DNA-based Next Generation Sequencing method.

Starts

February 27, 2018

Ends

February 27, 2018

Location

Online

Colorful plastic bottles

This webinar, presented by an SGS panel of experts, addresses Economically Motivated Adulteration (EMA), mitigation strategies and food fraud detection using the untargeted DNA-based Next Generation Sequencing method.

Objective

The objective of this webinar (45-minute presentation/15-minute Q&A) is to explore EMA as a potential hazard in FSMA, and provide best practices for food fraud prevention and detection at various stages of the food supply chain.

Agenda

  • Economically motivated adulteration in FSMA
  • Food fraud vulnerability assessment and prevention
  • Next Generation sequencing for detecting food fraud
  • Conclusions
  • Q&A

Background 

Economically motivated adulteration (EMA) has come to the forefront of food safety schemes and compliance requirements. With FSMA integrating EMA into its preventive controls rules, food fraud has gained further significance as a compliance requirement for protecting the US food supply. Many schools of thought and methodologies emerged throughout the years for mitigating food fraud, all of them with the common objective of protecting consumers. A comprehensive mitigation strategy, coupled with the detection technologies provided by genome sequencing are proving to be highly effective in mitigating and detecting food fraud.

Presenters Biography

Hank Karayan - SGS Global FSMA Program Director 
Mario Gadanho - SGS Global Food Molecular Business Development Manager
Dr. John Spink - Director & Assistant Professor, Food Fraud Inititiative, Michigan State University

Target Audience

This webinar is aimed at manufacturers/processors, importers and suppliers of food and food ingredients.

Language: English
Cost: No Charge

Tuesday, February 27, 2018
7:00 am Pacific Standard Time (San Francisco)
10:00 am Eastern Standard Time (New York)
3:00 pm GMT (London)
4:00 pm Central Europe Time (Paris)

For further information, please contact:

Jennifer Buckley
Global Marketing Manager
t: +1 973 461 1498