Skip to Menu Skip to Search Contact Us Skip to Content

About

Join this webinar to explore the issue of corporate social responsibility in the seafood sector.

Starts

October 24, 2017

Ends

October 24, 2017

Location

Online

Fishes inside the Fish Net

This webinar, presented by SGS, explores current research, summarizes the analysis of hundreds of GAA BAP, SMETA, and BSCI social compliance audits of seafood supply chains, cites the current regulatory framework and industry best practices, and ends with a path forward discussion.

Objective:

The objective of this webinar (45-minute presentation/15-minute Q&A) is to educate the audience on the current issues, risks and needed actions for furthering social responsibility in the seafood supply chain.

Agenda:

  • Global overview of seafood sustainability
  • Global compliance trends
  • Performance at the farms
  • Performance at the processing plants
  • Vessel monitoring updates
  • Citations of best practices
  • Standards & regulations
  • Suggestions for the path forward
  • Conclusion
  • Q&A

Background:

Media attention to, and government action in the UK, EU, US and Thailand, has accelerated investigation of human trafficking and slave labor. All the while, the growth of sustainability standards and certification (or its equivalent, independent monitoring and process improvement) has opened markets and facilitated the global trade of safe, quality and sustainable seafood. Industry and government have collaborated at an unprecedented rate, and more companies are sharing best practices and increasing the transparency of their supply chains to more savvy and vocal customers.

Progress in defining and improving the production of sustainable seafood requires diplomacy, collaboration, accountability and ongoing performance monitoring. These efforts will not only reduce risk within the seafood supply chain, but also benefit its stakeholders from farm and fisher folk to the end consumer.

Presenter:

Kevin Edwards - Business Development Manager Seafood

Target audience:

The webinar is aimed at seafood supply chain stakeholders with raw material, manufacturing, procurement, import, export, logistics and retail operations.

Language: English
Cost: No Charge

Please select the session which best suits your time zone and schedule:

Session 1:

Tuesday, October 24 2017

5:30 am Eastern Daylight Time (New York, GMT-04:00)
11:30 am European Summer Time (Paris, GMT+02:00)
3:00 pm India Standard Time (Mumbai, GMT+05:30)
5:30 pm China Standard Time (Beijing, GMT+08:00)

Register Now for Session 1 >

Session 2:

Tuesday, October 17 2017

2:00 pm S. America Eastern Time (Buenos Aires, GMT-03:00)
1:00 pm Eastern Daylight Time (New York, GMT-04:00)
12:00 pm Central Daylight Time (Chicago, GMT-05:00)
10:00 am Pacific Daylight Time (San Francisco, GMT-07:00)

Register now for Session 2 >

For more information please contact:

Jennifer Buckley
Global Marketing Manager
t: +1 973 461 1498