Skip to Menu Skip to Search Contact Us Skip to Content

About

Join our live webinar to learn how you can upgrade your current food safety certifications to be FSMA compliant.

Starts

October 11, 2016

Ends

October 11, 2016

Location

Online

FMSA Webinar

The objective of this webinar (45-minute presentation/15-minute Q&A) is to provide an overview of FSMA with reference to other food safety management systems, integration scenarios specific to GFSI schemes – commonalities and gaps. The webinar also touches upon recommendations for FSMA certification preparedness for foreign facilities.

Agenda

  • The evolution of food safety from HACCP to FSMA
  • FSMA – opportunities and challenges for food manufacturers
  • Mapping FSMA with GFSI standards
  • FSMA integration strategies with existing food safety systems
  • Conclusions
  • Q&A

Background

The US FDA Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA) shifts the focus from a reactive approach to a preventative approach to foodborne illness outbreaks, and is based on seven foundational rules for compliance. One of these rules is Preventive Controls for Human Food (PCHF). The rule applies to US and foreign entities supplying the US market. FSMA represents a major leap forward in US food safety, shifting the focus from voluntary schemes to regulatory compliance. As such, food facilities covered by the rule are required to ensure compliance by specific deadlines. FSMA compliance is required of all entities, including those holding other food certifications. One of the main steps in planning the upgrade to FSMA is to understand the gaps and address the additional requirements not covered in the current system. In order to facilitate the process on entities with current certification, it is therefore important that those facilities develop the most feasible compliance strategies, using their current food safety system as a starting point.

Presenters

Hank Karayan – Director of Global FSMA Program
Hank Karayan is Director of Global FSMA Program at SGS. He joined SGS in 2011 as International Solutions Manager. Hank started his career as a food safety consultant and trainer. Prior to joining SGS, Hank had held various managerial positions within the certification sector. He was a member of the ISO 22000 technical committee and has led food safety programs and initiatives in North America and globally. With a Bachelor of Science in Biology and an MBA, Hank brings together a wealth of international and local experience in food defense and food safety strategies.

Jennifer Lott – Technical Project Manager
Joined SGS North America a in 2013 and currently is a Technical Project Manager.  She serves as a technical resource for GFSI approved food and packaging schemes, including FSSC 22000 and BRC. She is an accredited multi-sector Food Safety Program Lead Auditor, FSPCA – Preventive Controls Qualified Individual (PCQI) Lead Instructor and Trainer. Jennifer has over 25 years experience in packaging laboratory management, quality assurance management, food safety management system development, consulting, training and auditing. Jennifer holds a Bachelor of Science degree in chemistry from the college of Mount St. Joseph.

Target Audience

The webinar is aimed at food companies that are covered by FSMA PCHF rule, wishing to upgrade to FSMA from an existing food safety management system such as a GFSI scheme.

Language: English
Cost: No Charge

Session 1 Schedule
9:00 am London (GMT Summer Time)
10:00 am Paris (Europe Summer Time)
4:00 pm Beijing (China Time)
5:30 pm Darwin (Australia Central Time)

Session 2 Schedule
8:00 am San Francisco (Pacific Daylight Time)
11:00 am New York (Eastern Daylight Time)
12:00 pm Buenos Aires (S. America Eastern Time)
5:00 pm Paris (Europe Summer Time)

Click here to register or for more information contact:

Jennifer Buckley
Global Food Marketing Manager
t: +1 973 461 1498